My Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Travelling Fellowship

IMG_3374

My blog will be narrating what I get up to and see on my Travelling Fellowship. It will be a personal record of my journey, highlighting the best points, and also the worst points, as I make my way around Athens and on to Italy via Naples.

For those of you who don’t know (and there can’t be many now), I have been awarded a Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Travelling Fellowship – I will be travelling in and around Athens and Italy looking at lettering inscriptions and letterforms for seven weeks. For more info on the Fellowships visit http://www.wcmt.org.uk, the application process is open until the 22 September if you are tempted to apply.

Today I visited the Epigraphical Museum  and the Byzantine and Christian Museum. I took a lot of photos, but also did some drawing and I was instantly reminded of the value of drawing. It forces you to look and see what is really in front of you and take note of things you can easily miss if you rely only on a camera.

IMG_3481

One thought on “My Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Travelling Fellowship

  1. What an amazing experience Charlotte. I know you will make the most of it. I am looking forward to reading your posts :-). Happy travelling.

    Like

Leave a comment